2019 Pacific Language Weeks

28 Feb 2019

The 2019 Pacific Language Weeks will boost awareness of the value of New Zealand’s Pacific languages both within Pacific communities and beyond.

“It will be a particularly momentous year for languages because the United Nations has declared this year as the International Year of Indigenous Languages with the aim of raising awareness of the consequences of the endangerment of indigenous languages across the world,” says Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio.

Language Week Dates:

  • Samoa Language Week: Sunday 26 May – Saturday 1 June 2019
  • Cook Islands Language Week: Sunday 4 August – Saturday 10 August 2019
  • Tonga Language Week: Sunday 1 September – Saturday 7 September 2019
  • Tuvalu Language Week: Sunday 29 September – Saturday 5 October 2019
  • Fiji Language Week: Sunday 6 October – Saturday 12 October 2019
  • Niue Language Week: Sunday 13 October – Saturday 19 October 2019
  • Tokelau Language Week: Sunday 27 October – Saturday 2 November 2019.